Badaun: Electing 'outsiders' since 1984

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Badaun (UP), Apr 11: This constituency has not seen a 'local' Parliamentarian in the last three decades as 'outsiders', fielded by major political parties, are getting elected since 1984.

The last time this constituency elected a local was in 1980 - Asrar Ahmad of Congress. In 1984, Allahabad resident and a friend of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi -- Salim Sherwani -- was elected from here on a Congress ticket.

Current JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav won on a Janta Dal ticket in 1989 while BJP's Chimayanand Maharaj triumphed in 1991, riding the Ram Mandir wave.

In 1996, Sherwani, regained the seat but on a Samajwadi Party ticket, thanks to the Muslim-Yadav vote combination, and continued his winning streak through 1998, 1999 and 2004.

But in 2009, after he was denied an SP ticket, he rejoined Congress. With all major parties including SP, BSP, BJP and AAP fielding outsiders this time also, the trend may continue unless voters choose from among the local candidates fighting on smaller party tickets or as Independents.

Congress hasn't fielded a candidate here as it has an alliance with Mahan Dal, which has nominated Swami Paglanand, a former BJP man and resident of Bijnore.

While BJP has fielded former customs officer Vagish Pathak, who has business in Delhi and other cities, BSP has nominated builder Akmar Khan alias Chaman, who claims himself to be a resident of Sahsawan (Badaun) but has been residing in Delhi and Haryana for a long time.

AAP has fielded Hema Mehra, a resident of New Friends Colony in Delhi. SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav's nephew Dharmendra Yadav, the sitting MP who lives in Saifai (Etawah) and Delhi, is the party's candidate this time also.


Please Wait while comments are loading...