• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  

Bengal polls phase 5: Polling largely peaceful


Kolkata, April 30: Fifty-three constituencies in West Bengal went to polls on Saturday (April 30) in the fifth and the penultimate phase of this year's Assembly election. These 53 seats are in South 24 Parganas (31), Kolkata (4) and Hooghly (18).

Polling began at 7 am and concluded at 6 pm.

West Bengal election Phase 5: In brief

  • Total voters: 1.23 crore
  • Women voters: 60.04 lakh
  • Total candidates: 349
  • Women candidates: 43 (CM Mamata Banerjee is one among them)
  • Polling stations: 14,565
  • Total EVMs: 16.838 [VVPATs - 1,024]
  • Max candidates: Kolkata Port, Bhabanipur (11)
  • Min candidates: Aarambag, Goghat (3)
  • Party-wise candidates: TMC, BJP - 53 each; Left - 37; Congress - 14; BSP - 26; NCP - 1
  • Candidates with property worth crores: 43 [TMC has 23 of them]
  • Candidates with criminal cases against them: 67
  • Central forces: 680 companies

End of updates.

7.17: Voter turnout till 5pm: 78.25%

Kolkata - 63.10%; South 24 Pgs - 79.69%; Hooghly - 78.98%

7.15 pm: 102 EVMs have been changed during the fifth phase, 90 of them during the mock poll. Two presiding officers have been replaced.

6.00 pm: Polling concludes in fifth phase.

5.30 pm: Central forces' bus ransacked.

4.50 pm: Voter turnout till 3pm: 72.19%

Kolkata - 58.05%; South 24 Pgs - 73.19%; Hooghly - 72.46%

4.15 pm: Three live bombs found in Bhabanipur constituency from where Mamata Banerjee is contesting. Police officers have reached the spot.
4.05 pm: TMC's Abdur Rezzaq Mollah is the only candidate who is contesting an election after getting expelled from two parties.
3.55 pm: Asian Games gold-winning athlete and former MP Jyotirmoyee Sikdar contesting against TMC's sitting MLA Firdausi Begum from Sonarpur North constituency.

Bengali Music director Joy Sarkar and his wife Lopamudra Mitra, a singer, after casting their votes.

3.40 pm: A presiding officer has been replaced in a booth in Aarambag for allegedly aiding in rigging.
3.38 pm: One TMC supporter injured in firing in Nabagram area in Baruipur in South 24 Parganas.
2.57 pm: FIR lodged against Assembly Deputy Speaker and Satgacchia MLA Sonali Guha for asking to drive out CPI(M) poll agents.

2.42 pm: Voter turnout till 1 pm 57.10%

Kolkata - 46.35%; South 24 Pgs - 58.24%; Hooghly - 59.83%

2.10 pm: Congress candidate Deepa Dasmunsi takes her lunch at CPI(M) office in Bhabanipur. She is contesting against CM Mamata Banerjee. [Transgender takes on Mamata today]
2.09 pm: TMC actor-MP Moon Moon Sen and her two actor daughters---Raima and Riya Sen cast their votes.
2.08 pm: Former Bengal CM Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee and his wife cast votes.
2.07 pm: TMC and RSP supporters clash in Basanti constituency in South 24 Parganas; voting has been stopped for the moment.

1.39 pm: EC orders FIR against Bengal Assembly Deputy Speaker Sonali Guha and three-time MLA from Satgachhia Sonali Guha for instigating attack against Left polling agents. [Riya Sarkar becomes first transgender presiding officer in India]

1.30 pm: Police and central forces' personnel raid various parts of Behala East constituency to chase away outsiders. [Poll-busy Kolkata sees strange halo around sun]
12.35 pm: Temperature now: Kolkata - 39 degree C; South 24 Parganas - 37 degree C; Hooghly - 39 degree C

12.32 pm: Three TMC supporters injured in Bhangar constituency after central forces allegedly lathicharged to remove the party's camp office which was set up within 100 metres of the polling booth.

12.30 pm: Voter turnout till 11 am: 38%

Kolkata - 32.58%; South 24 Pgs - 39.81%; Hooghly - 36.97%

11.53 am: Kick out CPI(M) agents from booth, says TMC MLA from Satgacchia and deputy spaker of the Assembly Sonali Guha.

11.28 am: Plainclothed policemen from Kolkata Police monitor the poll proceedings.
10.46 am: TMC-CPI(M) supporters clash in Aarambag. One CPI(M) supporter injured.

10.41 am: Bhabanipur BJP candidate Chandra Bose casts his vote; Bose, grand nephew of Netaji Subhas Bose, is contesting against CM Mamata Banerjee.

10.35 am: Voter turnout till 9 am: 18.59%

Kolkata - 15.64%; South 24 Pgs - 20.04%; Hooghly - 20.10%

10.18 am: EC uses drone in Jadavpur constituency in Kolkata.

10.04 am: TMC candidate Abdur Rezzaq Mollah asks media not to come with him; he also accused central forces of not knowing English, Hindi.
9.56 am: Left candidate from Kasba constituency Shatarup Ghosh casts his vote; says dictator Hitler had died on April 30 (1945).
9.40 am: Three-time TMC MLA from Satgacchia Sonali Guha finds herself in an altercation with polling officials. Late Bengal CM Jyoti Basu had won from Satgacchia five times in a row between 1977 and 2000.
9.27 am: Two goons detained in Kasba seat in Kolkata for threatening voters. [Mamata Banerjee will hope BJP repeats its 2014 LS performance]

bengal poll phase 5
9.25 am: One voter finds himself 'dead' in the electoral list after arriving at the booth to cast his ballot. Whether he will be able to vote is still not known.
9.23 am: CAB president and former Indian cricket captain Sourav Ganguly casts his vote. Actor Rachana Banerjee also casts her vote, says it's time we stop the mud-slinging.
9.05 am: Assembly Speaker Biman Banerjee is contesting from Baruipur West constituency.
8.40 am: No CPI(M) agent in several booths in Canning Purba; the Left party had won this seat continuously between 1977-2011. Abdur Rezzaq Mollah, the former Left leader who is contesting from Bhangar on the TMC's ticket this year, had won from Canning Purba in South 24 Parganas district in each election between 1977 and 2011, the year when the Left govt got toppled.
8.30 am: Cops remove TMC camp in Mamata Banerjee's constituency after it was set up within 100 metres of a polling booth.

8.18 am: We are changing EVMs as soon as we are getting information on machines developing snag: EC

8.10 am: No complaints so far, Jadavpur Left candidate Sujan Chakraborty said.

8.04 am: TMC Rajya Sabha MP and chief national spokesperson Derek O'Brien says Mamata Banerjee's all-round development and communal harmony in the state will see this election going her way. Derek O'Brien cast his vote in Ballygunge constituency.
8.00 am: TMC candidate from Haripal Becharam Manna casts his vote.

7.53 am: Phase 5: 2011 results: Total seats 53: TMC 46, Left 6, SUCI 1, Congress 0, BJP 0

7.37 am: A number of heavyweight candidates are in the fray today, including CM Mamata Banerjee.

7.31 am: The wife and daughter of a polling agent of an Independent candidate Ambikesh Mahapatra in Behala East constituency were given rape threat, say reports. TMC accused. Mahapatra was jailed in 2012 for forwarding a cartoon of top TMC leaders on social media.

west bengal election 2016

7.25 am: Four seats in Kolkata going to polls today. All these four were won by the Trinamool Congress in 2011. These four are: Kolkata Port, Rashbehari, Bhabanipur and Ballygunge.

7.18 am: TMC accused of driving out Left polling agent in Sonarpur South constituency in South 24 Parganas and Khanakul in Hooghly.

7.10 am: People turn up to cast their votes early in the day.

Oneindia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more