• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

US scientists win 2017 Nobel Physics Prize for gravitational waves

By Deepika

The American physicists Rainier Weiss, Kip Thorne and Barry Barish were honored for their leading roles to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.

Barry Barish, Rainier Weiss and Kip Thorne. Courtesy: @NobelPrize

Rainer Weiss will receive one half of the prize while Kip Thorne and Barry Barish will receive the other half.

Rainer Weiss, 85, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge and Kip Thorne, 77, of the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) in Pasadena hatched plans for the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) in 1984. Barry Barish, a Caltech particle physicist, later guided the construction of the twin LIGO observatories in Hanford, Washington, and Livingston, Louisiana.

The 2016 prize went to three British-born researchers who applied the mathematical discipline of topology to help understand the workings of exotic matter such as superconductors and superfluids.

The existence of gravitational waves was predicted a century ago by Albert Einstein, who assumed they would be far too weak to ever detect.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more