With lure of plum posts, how BJP stacked up its Goa numbers

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

After claiming a majority in Goa, BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate Manohar Parrikar is all set to take oath on Tuesday evening. In an effort to retain the support extended by non-BJP players in the state, the BJP has extended plump cabinet posts to MLAs of the parties that they have allied with. On Tuesday Parrikar is expected to take oath along with two MLAs of Goa Forward Party, two legislators of Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and two independent MLAs to induct them as ministers into his cabinet.

Manohar Parrikar

Out of the 40 assembly seats in Goa, the BJP managed to win 13 while the Congress has won 17 seats. The magic number being 21 to form the government, the BJP was quick to consolidate its support. With the support of independent MLAs Rohan Khaunte, Prasad Gaonkar and Govind Gawade plus three MLAs each from GFP and MGP the BJP now is working towards keeping them all close till Thursday when Parrikar is expected to prove majority in the assembly.

8 ministers including BJP's leader and current Goa deputy Chief Minister Francis D'Souza along with another BJP legislator is expected to take oath alongside Manohar Parrikar.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...