Uttarakhand crisis: Congress expels Vijay Bahuguna's son for 'anti-party' activities

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Dehradun, Mar 21: It looks like Harish Rawat led Uttarakhand government is in deep crisis, though Congress high command is trying its best to keep its flock together.

On Monday, party exapelled Vijay Bahuguna's son Saket Bahuguna. Congress candidate from Tehri Lok Sabha seat, Vijay was sacked allegedly for involving in 'anti-party activities'. Cracking whip on rebel leaders who are going against party's rule and regulations, Congress also expelled state organization secretary Anil Gupta.

U'khand: Vijay Bahuguna's son expelled

Saket was among the nine MLAs who rebelled against the Harish Rawat government. State Congress chief Kishore Upadhyay said the disciplinary committee recommended to the Pradesh Congress Committee that Saket and Gupta be expelled on the basis of their statements published in newspapers and broadcasted by news channels.

Considering the activities of Saket, who was a two-time Lok Sabha candidate from Tehri seat, and Gupta as "anti-party", the PCC accepted the recommendation of the disciplinary committee and expelled them for six years.

Upadhyay said the party will not accept indiscipline and strict action will be taken against those who violate discipline. Uttarakhand Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal had yesterday issued notices to nine rebel Congress MLAs asking them why they should not be disqualified from the House.

Notices were issued following a request from party chief whip and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Indira Hridayesh seeking action against them for violating the party whip in the state Assembly during voting on the Finance Bill.

The notices have been pasted on the walls of the houses of the MLAs concerned which asks them to submit their replies to the Speaker by March 26 evening. However, Pradesh BJP president and Leader of Opposition in the state Assembly Ajay Bhatt said as a notice of no-confidence has already been moved against the Speaker he should quit his post.

Before the crisis unfolded, the Congress had 36 MLAs in the 70-member Assembly. The ruling party also has the support of 6 members of the Progressive Democratic Front, while opposition BJP has 28 MLAs.

OneIndia News

(With inputs from PTI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...