• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Tamil Nadu, Puducherry Assembly election Updates: 81.94% polling in P'cherry, TN 73.76%

By Pallavi

Chennai, May 16: The intense assembly polls of 232 constituencies of Tamil Nadu began at 7 am on Monday, May 16.

5.79 crore voters casted their votes in 65,616 polling stations to select representatives from 234 constituencies of the state legislative assembly. A total of 3,800 candidates are in the fray.

Here are the Live Updates:


Puducherry records 81.94 per cent polling. 73.76% votes polled in TN

6.00 pm: EC officials start distributing tokens to voters arriving at the polling booth.

5.40 pm: 69.19 % polling recorded till 5 pm in Tamil Nadu.

5:26 pm: Ground reports show that BJP has done well,If BJP performs better the victim will be AIADMK'.

5:23 pm: 80.17 per cent polling recorded in Puducherry as of 5 pm.

5:21 pm: 2 voters die of heart attack.

5:08 pm: Exit polls may start at 6:30 pm.

4:55 pm: Voters turn out till 4 p.m. in Ariyalur district is 78 per cent, where as in Jayamkondan is 75 per cent.

4.50 pm: 65% polling held in Tamil Nadu till 4 pm.

4:37 pm: 71.08 per cent polling recorded till 4 p.m. in Puducherry

4:30 pm: Election Commission yet to decide to extending polling time in Tamil Nadu

4:02 pm: Till 3 pm, TN projects 63.7%, Puducherry 67% voting

3:51 pm: Polling official at a booth near Kangayam died of cardiac arrest

3:23 pm: Puducherry CM N. Rangasamy leaves in his motorcycle after casting vote

3:13 pm: 66.29 per cent voters turn out till 3 p.m in Puducherry

3:12 pm: 42.12% voter turnout in Tamil Nadu till 1 pm. 47.19% voter turnout in Puducherry till 1 pm.

2:39 pm: A couple who got just married in Pathirakottai near Neyveli in Cuddalore cast their votes

2:27 pm: T.Nagar booth gets Braille EVM, polling list, visually impaired voter gets inked

2:09 pm: 8 districts witnessing heavy rain. Have recommended to extend poll time, expecting ECI nod by 3pm: Rajesh Lahoni, Chief Electoral Officer TN

2:04 pm: Puducherry reports 54.19% voting till 1 PM

[Read: Tamil Nadu: Voters applaud paper audit trail system ]

Poll percent in Chennai is 38%

1:58 pm: AIADMK workers and BJP cadres clash on Nelson Manickam road: Thanti TV

1:43 pm: Peaceful polling at Uthapuram in Madurai. Village is infamous for a caste wall that divided habitations of Caste Hindus and Dalits.

[Read: TN poll percentage over 25 per cent, rains hamper voting ]

1:39 pm: 42.1% voters turnout recorded till 1 PM in Tamil Nadu Election

1:15 pm: Puducherry records 34% voting till 12.30 pm

1.10 pm: Protest near Vaidyanathan Bridge area of Chennai over the quality of the indelible ink used at booth No. 32.

12:58 pm: Chennai: Members of Chennai's transgender community cast their vote, polling underway

12:55 pm:

12:52 pm: AIADMK and DMK workers clash in Hosur, one person reportedly injured

Have asked distt collectors over extending poll time in rain affected distts & then we'll inform ECI, decision to be taken after 3: R Lahoni

12:43 pm: Heavy rains reported at in few parts including coastal regions of Nagapattinam & Cuddalore distt: Rajesh Lahoni, Chief Electoral Officer TN

12:36 pm: 32.41 per cent polling in Puducherry at 12 noon

12:30 pm: 28.05% as of 11 am in Madurai district

Light moments during polls

12:05: Over 30% voting in Puducherry

11:43 am: Rs 570 crore were seized from containers by election commission during raids in Tamil Nadu.

11:40 am: SC refuses to entertain a plea seeking SIT probe in the money seizure matter during Tamil Nadu Election, asks petitioner to approach HC.

[See Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2016 photos]

11:38 am: 25.2% voters turnout recorded till 11 AM in Tamil Nadu

[Read: Stalin demands CBI inquiry into distribution of money]

11:22 am: Puducherry reports voting percentage of 27.51% till 11 am.

10:45 am: Our delegation met EC today, gave facts about misuse of money power in Kerala,Tamil Nadu and Puducherry: RP Rudy, BJP

10:30 am:

10:26 am: PMK's CM candidate Anbumani Ramadoss shares a selfie after voting

[Read: DMK chief pulled-up by EC to explain advertisement on Internet ]

10:24 am: Former TN Speaker Sedapatti R. Muthiah casts his vote at Avaniapuram in Madurai.

10:15 am: Volunteers assist senior citizens who arrive at a polling booth in Chennai to cast their vote.

10:07 am: Wait for two more days to know people's verdict,' says Jayalalithaa

10:06 am: Power failure in parts of Puducherry which may delay voting.

9:58 am: Stalin demands CBI inquiry into distribution of money

9:54 am: Kanimozhi, Jayalalithaa cast vote. Jaya casts vote in Stella Maris College.

Pondicherry: Polling is disturbed at some places in Karaikal region due to heavy rains and power cuts

9:50 am: Pondicherry: Union Minister V. Narayanasamy cast his vote at a booth in the Raj Bhavan constituency

14.4 percent polling till 9 am in Tiruchi district

9:49 am: P Chidambaram casts his vote at his native village in Kandanur in Karaikudi constituency

9:41 am: DMDK chief Vijayakant arrives with wife to cast his vote

13 percent polling till 9 am in Puducherry

9:22 am: Tamil Nadu assembly polls: Polling percentage of 18.3% recorded till 9 am.

9:20 am: Initially 11 EVMs were not working; now they have been set right

9:13 am: Aged nuns cast their votes, braving heavy rains in Ernakulam

9:00 am: TN Congress chief E.V.K.S. Elangovan casts his vote in Erode. Photo: M. Govarthan

8:50 am: Everyone should vote. That is a duty.

8:37 am: Stalin casts his vote

[Read: Now, BJP launches a Punjab native in Tamil Nadu elections ]

8:27 am: Jayalalithaa to vote around 10 am

8:20 am:

8:06 am: Kamal Hassan casts vote

Money distribution is curbed to a level, but there are incidents of cash transfer through trucks. We will win enough number of seats, our winning prospects are bright.

7:51 am: People have question in their mind if Election Commission will initiate action against them:Karunanidhi, DMK Chief

7:45 am: Drizzling in parts of Madurai: Voting for 233 Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu underway.

[Read: Why Karunanidhi's campaign is the last straw of survival for DMK ]

7:21 am:

[Read: Alagiri stays out of election, alleges DMK doesn't know how to use him ]

7:14 am: M Karunanidhi casts his vote

7:11 am: Superstar Rajinikanth casts his ballot

7:08 am: Voting begins in Tamil Nadu for 233 Assembly constituencies, visuals from Chennai's Stella Maris College

[Read: Tamil Nadu election 2016: A look at all pre-poll surveys]

7:00 am: Voting begins

6:50 am: 233 Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu all set to go to polls today,voting to begin at 7am. Visuals from Mylapore

6:45 am: Chennai:Preparations ahead of assembly polls in Tamil Nadu,visuals from Stella Maris College. Voting to begin at 7am

[For more updates, visit Election Page]

[Read: Ahead of Tamil Nadu Assembly elections, alcohol prohibition may decide the state's fate ]

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more