Congress sweeps Mizoram

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Live: Vote counting begins in Mizoram
Aizawl, Dec 9: Follow live updates of Mizoram election results here.Elections in the state of Mizoram were held on November 25.142 candidates are contesting in 40 seats.

(Read more: Mizoram assembly election)

[Click here for updates]

5.39 pm: Congress wins 28 seats. MFN wins 5 seats.

4.41 pm: Congress bags 23 seats. Mizo National Front 3 seats.

4.21 pm: Congress wins 22 seats.

3:21: Congress' number climbs to 21 and the party retains power in the northeastern state. They are leading in another 6 seats. MNF is leading in 3 seats and has won 2 seats. 

3:04: Congress' seat count is 19 now. They are leading in 6 more seats. 

2:49: Congress is won 18 seats and is leading in other 7 seats. MNF is leading in 3 and has won 2 seats. BJP is also leading in a seat.

2:00: Congress wins 15 seats and is leading in 7 more seats.

12:40: Chief minister Lal Thanhawla has won from Hrangturzo constituency. Congress is leading in 22 seats. MNF has won 2 seats and is leading in 2 others.

12:22: Congress wins in 20 seats in Mizoram. They are leading in 20 seats in the state. The party is folowed by MNF with a lead in 3 seats.

11:47: Congress wins 8 seats in Mizoram and is leading in 10 seats. Chief minister Lal Thanhawla is still leading in his constituency. 

11:20: Congress has won 6 seats already and is leading in 17 seats now. 

11:13: Congress wins two seats in Mizoram and is leading in 16 seats, MNF takes lead in 5 seats. 

11:00: Congress candidate John Siamkunga is the first winner in Mizo polls. Congress is leading in 12 seats so far, followed by MNF who is leading in 5 seats.  

10:45: Mizo chief minister Lal Thanhawla, who is contesting from Hrangturzo constituency, is leading. Congress party has a lead in 14 seats. 

10:14: Congress's lead status climbs to 12. MNF is leading in 2 seats. 

9:54: Congress takes a lead in 8 seats, Mizo National Front (MDA constituent) has lead in 2 seats. 

9:30: Early trends show Congress taking a lead in ths state. Congress has a lead in 5 seats while the Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA) is ahead in 2 seats.

08:55: There are six women candidates contesting - one each from the Congress and the MDA, three belonging to the BJP and one independent.

Mizoram is the only state in India where women voters outnumber men by 9,806 in the state of 690,860.

08:13 am "The counting of ballots would be done across eight districts from 8 a.m. Monday. Postal ballots would be counted first, followed by the votes recorded in EVMs (electronic voting machines)," an official of the state election department told reporters.

8:00 am Vote counting began in the north-eastern state Mizoram on Monday.State Joint Chief Electoral Officer H Lalengmawia on Sunday said that elaborate security arrangements have been made in the counting centres in the eight districts.

Parties contesting polls

The ruling Congress has contested for all 40 seats in the state as has the Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA). MDA constituent Mizo National Front (MNF) is contesting for 31 seats, Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) for eight and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) contested for one.

Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) has fielded candidates to 38 seats while BJP is contesting for 17 seats. Others included 2 NCP candidates, one from the Jai Maha Bharhat Party and four independent candidates.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla of Congress is in the reckoning from Serchhip, his home turf, and neighbouring Hrangturzo. The main opponent MNF leader and former chief minister Zoramthanga is trying his luck from Tuipui East seat.

Oneindia news

Please Wait while comments are loading...