• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka elections 2018: BJP BS Yeddyurappa wins in Shikaripura


BJP chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa won in Shikaripura constituency over Congress's GB Malatesh, as per initial trends flashing across media reports.

Yeddyurappa had predicted massive win for BJP in advance and was confident about BJP's win in the state.

Karnataka elections 2018: BJP chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa leads in Shikaripura

Yeddyurappa, ahead of counting, had clearly said that he will meet PM Modi on Tuesday to fix time for swearing-in ceremony. He became the 19th Chief Minister of Karnataka after leading BJP to a victory in the 2008 Karnataka Assembly elections. Yeddyurappa is popular for winning Bharatiya Janata Party its first government in down south state.

The Election Commission on Tuesday started counting of votes for declaring the Karnataka assembly election results 2018. Exit polls have predicted a close contest between the ruling Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). 

After a high-decibel campaign, 222 of the 224 seats in the Karnataka legislative assembly witnessed voting on May 12. The Election Commission postponed voting in two seats due to alleged irregularities in one and the death of a candidate in the other.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more