Gujarat CM appoints 8 Parliamentary Secretaries

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ahmedabad, Aug 9: Newly elected Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani today appointed eight BJP MLAs as Parliamentary Secretaries.

They include MLA Vasanbhai Ahir (Anja), Ranchhodbhai Desai (Patan), Bharatsinh Dabhi (Kheralu), Shamji Chauhan (Chotila), Jethabhai Solanki (Kodinar), Vibhavariben Dave (Bhavnagar), Jayantibhai Rathva (Pavi-Jetpur) and Babubhai Patel (Ahmedabad).

vijay rupani

Rupani had yesterday allocated portfolios to his Council of Ministers. The MLAs took oath of office at Swarnim Sankul in Gandhinagar in the presence of ministers and other key officials of the government this evening, an official press release issued here said.

Out of the eight Parliamentary Secretaries, five were appointed by Rupani's predecessor Anandiben Patel in 2014. Those who were retained are Vasanbhai Ahir, Bharatsinh Dabhi, Ranchhodbhai Desai, Shamji Chauhan and Jethabhai Solanki, it said.

Three new faces include Vibhavariben Dave, Jayantibhai Rathva and Babubhai Patel. It is expected that the CM will allot departments to the secretaries soon. Parliamentary Secretaries are usually considered as deputy ministers and appointed to help the cabinet ministers in speeding up the work of their respective departments.


Please Wait while comments are loading...