EPS-OPS faction sacks 9 leaders for supporting Dinakaran

Subscribe to Oneindia News

A day after sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran won the RK Nagar byelection with thumping margin, nine men supporting Dinakaran have been sacked from AIADMK by EPS- OPS faction on Monday.

TTV Dinakaran

S Vetrivel, Thangatamil Selvan, M Rangaswamy, V.P. Kalairajan, NG Parthiban, V Muthiah,Va Pugazhenthi, Nanchil Sampath and CR Saraswathi have been removed from the party positions in AIADMK. The decision was taken in a high-level committee meeting to discuss party's performance in RK Nagar byPoll.

The decision was taken at a meeting chaired by top party office-bearers O Panneerselvam and K Palaniswami. "Party workers are requested not to have any truck with them," they said in the statement.

AIADMK sources had earlier said the action was likely against six party functionaries, following the party candidate's defeat in R K Nagar by Dhinakaran. The top leaders finally acted against nine people.

Dinakaran won the by-election for the Radhakrishnan Nagar (R.K.Nagar) constituency, defeating his nearest rival, E. Madhusudhanan of the AIADMK by a margin of over 40,000 votes. Dinakaran polled 72,518 votes and AIADMK's Madhusudhanan got 39,029 votes. DMK candidate N.Marudhu Ganesh has got 20,493 votes.

After registering a massive victory in Dinakaran, nephew of VK Sasikala, claimed that he is the "true successor" of Jayalalithaa.

(With agency inputs)

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.