• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bengal: State minister Suvendu Adhikari’s brother Dibyendu eyes to win Tamluk again for TMC


Kolkata, April 13: The schedule for the 17th Lok Sabha election was announced by the Election Commission on Sunday, March 10. The election will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19 with the results to be declared on May 23. Of all the states in the country, West Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh will witness elections in seven phases.

Bengal: State minister Suvendu Adhikari’s brother Dibyendu eyes to win Tamluk again for TMC

Here we take a look at all the Lok Sabha constituencies (42) of Bengal and how parties have fared there over the years.

Constituency: TAMLUK

Date of election: May 12 (Phase 6)

The Tamluk Lok Sabha constituency is located in East Midnapore district and comprises the following segments: Tamluk, Panshkura Purba (SC), Moyna, Nandakumar, Mahisadal, Haldia (SC) and Nandigram.

What happened in 2014:

State minister Suvendu Adhikari won the seat by polling over seven lakh votes to retain it. He defeated his nearest candidate Shek Ibrahim Ali of the CPI(M) by nearly 2.5 lakh votes. Badsha Alam of the BJP finished third with 86.2k votes while the Congress's Anwar Ali Sk finished fourth with less than 30,000 votes. In 2016, after Suvendu won the state Assembly election to become an MLA and a minister, his brother Dibyendu contested a by-poll and retained Tamluk for the TMC.

Bengal: TMC eyes to continue its dominance in Hooghly constituency

Total electors in Tamluk constituency in 2014 were 15.2 lakh.

Vote share:

The TMC's vote-share in 2014 was 53.57 per cent while the Left finished with 35.15 per cent. The BJP got 6.45 per cent vote share and the Congress 2.22 per cent.

History of Tamluk constituency results: TMC won what was a CPI(M) bastion in 2009 and retained it in 2014

Tamluk was once a stronghold of former Left leader Lakshman Seth who won here from 1998 to 2009 but Suvendu ended the CPI(M)'s influence in the constituency by defeating Lakshman in 2009 by 1.72 lakh votes.

Candidates contesting from Tamluk in 2019:

  • TMC: Dibyendu Adhikari;
  • Left: Sk Ibrahim Ali;
  • BJP: Siddhartha Naskar;
  • Congress: Lakshman Seth

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more