• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Andhra special category status: Five YSR Congress Lok Sabha MPs resign

By Vikas

Five MPs of the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) on Friday submitted their resignations to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan in protest against the special category status not given to Andhra Pradesh. YSRCP chief Jagan Mohan Reddy had announced in February that the party's five MPs would resign if its demand for Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh was not fulfilled by the Centre.

 Five YSR Congress Lok Sabha MPs resign

The MPs were also upset as their notices for a no-confidence motion against the NDA government could not be taken up for discussion in the House due to continuous disruptions, said a PTI report.

"We do as we say! YSRCP MPs are submitting their resignations today. I challenge @ncbn to make TDP MPs resign and stand united with the people of AP in their rightful demand of special category status for Andhra Pradesh," the YSR Congress chief tweeted on Friday.

The YSR Congress and the TDP members have been agitating in both houses of Parliament ever since the second half of the Budget session commenced on March 5, demanding special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

The TDP, which was an ally of the BJP, had also quit the NDA over the issue.

OneIndia News with PTI inputs

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more