Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: NAJIBABAD [GEN]

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: MEERAPUR [16]

-------->Next seat: NAGINA [18]

Know UP constituencies: NAJIBABAD

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Najibabad

[Comprises KCs 3-Najibabad, 4-Nangal, 5-Sahanpur, Sahanpur NP, Jalalabad NP & Najibabad MB of 1-Najibabad Tehsil]

  • Constituency No. 17
  • District: Bijnor (Najibabad is an Assembly segment under Nagina Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 4,561 square kilometres
  • District population: 36,82,713 (general caste 78.5%; SC 21.4%; ST 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 58%
  • District urbanisation: 25.1%

2012 Assembly election result in Najibabad

  • Winner: Tasleem (BSP)
  • Votes received: 62,713
  • Vote percentage: 33.54
  • Nearest rival: Rajeev Kumar Agarwal (BJP)
  • Votes: 51,130
  • Percentage: 27.35
  • Difference: 11,583
  • Margin %: 6.19
  • Total voters: 3,02,715
  • Turnout: 61.77% 
  • Party which has won Najibabad most number of times: Congress thrice; BJP twice; BSP once; SP never [since 1957]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Nagina

Yaswant Singh (BJP) defeated Yashvir Singh (SP) by 92,390 votes (margin% 9.8)

Please Wait while comments are loading...