Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: NAGINA [SC]

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: NAJIBABAD [17]

-------->Next seat: BARHAPUR [19]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Know UP constituencies: NAGINA

Constituency Name: Nagina [SC]

[Comprises KCs Akbarabad, Kiratpur & Kiratpur MB of Najibabad Tehsil; KC Nagina & Nagina MB of Nagina Tehsil]

  • Constituency No. 17
  • District: Bijnor (Nagina is an Assembly segment under Nagina Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 4,561 square kilometres
  • District population: 36,82,713 (general caste 78.5%; SC 21.4%; ST 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 58%
  • District urbanisation: 25.1%

2012 Assembly election result in Nagina

  • Winner: Manoj Kumar Paras (SP)
  • Votes received: 83,997
  • Vote percentage: 46.04
  • Nearest rival: Omwati Devi (BSP)
  • Votes: 57,451
  • Percentage:31.49
  • Difference: 26,546
  • Margin %: 14.55
  • Total voters: 2,99,391
  • Turnout: 60.94%
  • Party which has won Nagina most number of times: Congress, BSP, SP twice each; BJP once [since 1957]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Nagina

Yaswant Singh (BJP) defeated Yashvir Singh (SP) by 92,390 votes (margin% 9.8)

Please Wait while comments are loading...