Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: MEERAPUR [GEN]

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: KHATAULI [15]

------->Next seat: NAJIBABAD [17]

Know UP constituencies: MEERAPUR

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Meerapur

[Comprises KCs 4-Meerapur, 5-Bhopa, PCs 5-Salarpur, 6-Jatwara, 8-Kawal, 9-Dhansari, 12-Jolly, 13-Roorkali Talabali, 14-Nagla Bujurg, 15-Kamheda, 16-Tissa, 17-Kakrauli, 18-Tewda of 3-Jansath KC, Meerapur NP & Bhokerheri NP of 5-Jansath Tehsil]

  • Constituency No. 16
  • District: Muzaffarnagar (Meerapur is an Assembly segment under Bijnor Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 2,945 square kilometres
  • District population: 28,27,154 (general caste 86.5%; SC 13.5%; ST 0%)
  • District literacy: 58.33%
  • District urbanisation: 28.8%

2012 Assembly election result in Meerapur

  • Winner: Jamil Ahmed Qashmi (BSP)
  • Votes received: 56,802
  • Vote percentage: 33.66
  • Nearest rival: Mithlesh Pal (RLD)
  • Votes: 44,069
  • Percentage: 26.12
  • Difference: 12,733
  • Margin %:7.55
  • Total voters: 2,73,236
  • Turnout: 61.80%
  • Party which has won Meerapur most number of times: Meerapur constituency came into existence after 2008 [BSP won it in 2012]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Bijnor

Kumar Bhartendra (BJP) defeated Shahnawaz Rana (BSP) by 2,05,774 votes (margin% 19.41)

Please Wait while comments are loading...