• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka elections: Muddebihal Assembly constituency

By Oneindia Staff Writer

Muddebihal is a town and taluka in Bijapur district of North Karnataka. Muddebihal is located 80 km away from the district headquarters of Bijapur. There are 31 Panchayat villages in the Muddebihal Taluka. Muddebihal Municipality was first established in 1973. It includes 23 wards, 23 elected members and five nominated members.

Karnataka elections: Muddebihal Assembly constituency

The economy of Muddebihal is dependent on agriculture, with the main crops being groundnuts, sunflowers, bajra, and wheat.

MGVC College is a major educational institute in Muddebihal that offers many graduate courses.

Muddebihal is well connected by raod but there are no railways stations there. The nearest railway station is at Almatti which is around 23 kms from Muddebihal. Pilekamma Devi Temple is one of the important places of worship in Muddebihal. The average literacy rate of Muddebihal is 67 per cent with male literacy being 75 per cent, and female literacy 58 per cent.

Congress party's Appaji Channabasavaraj Shankararao Nadagouda is the current MLA from Muddebihal. In 2013 Karnataka Assembly elections, Nadagouda defeated KJP's Vimalabai Jagadevrao Deshmukh by 12,202 votes. Muddebihal has been a Congress bastion and has won the seat in 1999, 2004, 2008 and 2013. BJP has never won from Muddebihal while the Janata Dal won the seat in 1994.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more