Puducherry choses Congress-DMK Alliance

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Puducherry went to poll on 16th of May. It had 344 candidates in fray for 30 Assembly seats and votes were cast at 930 polling booths. Initial trends showed that alliance between Congress and DMK was going neck to neck with ruling AINRC.

Once the early trends settled in the Congress and DMK alliance took 15 seats while AINRC could maintain lead on 10 seats in Puducherry. 

In the end Congress-DMK combine won 17 seats in the Unioin Territory.


UT has its own politics:

Prohibition was ruled out in the UT by not only the ruling AINRC but also Congress-DMK alliance. AINRC had told that it was not possible to impose total prohibition in UT as alcohol sale contributed to UT's revenue. The Congress and DMK alliance had there was absolutely no scope for introduction of total prohibition in Puducherry in view of its unique culture.

What was promised by winning Congress-DMK combine:

Congress-DMK combine had promised to do following things if they were voted to power in the UT:

Efforts would be made for special category statehood status to Puducherry with fiscal benefits from the Centre.

Waiver of loans borrowed by farmers from banks.

Holding of civic polls with 50 per cent reservation for women in decision-making posts in local bodies.

Hike in monthly pension to freedom fighters from the present Rs 7,000 to Rs 10,000. It also

Implementation of 'Goondas Act' and assured peaceful environment, especially for industrialists.

Free set-top boxes for each television connection.

New industrial policy to be introduced and steps to be taken to attract foreign investors in industrial sector.

50 per cent subsidy to power consumers.

Steps for the welfare of fishermen, minorities, scheduled castes and backward classes.

Winners in Puducherry:

Embalam constituency was won by Congress candidate Candassamy.
AIADMK candidate A. Anbalagan was declared elected in Uppalam constituency.
Kamaraj Nagar seat was won by Congress candidate and Leader of Opposition V. Vaithilingam.
Mahe seat was won by independent candidate Ramachandran.
Congress candidate V. P. Sivakoulundhu won Lawspet constituency.
AINRC candidate T. P. R. Selvam won Mannadipet constituency.
Congress candidate and four-time MLA Malladi Krishna Rao won Yanam seat.
Congress candidate T. Djeamourthy won Ariyankuppam constituency.
N.S. Jayabal got elected from Kadirgamam.
AINRC's Rangasamy current Chief Minister, won Indira Nagar constituency.
AIADMK's Vaiyapuri Manikandan won Muthialpet.
V. Vizeavany of Congress wins from Nettapakkam constituency.
Congress candidate K. Lakshminarayanan won the Raj Bhawan seat.
PCC leader A Namassivayam declared winner from Villanur constituency.
Congress candidate M.O.H.F. Shahjahan won Kalapet.
B. Kobiga of AINRC was declared winner from Thirubhuvanai.
AIADMK's K. A. U. Asana declared winner in Karaikal South.
Villianur constituency was won by A. Namassivayam.

People voice their opinion on Twitter:

Some people after observing the trends in Puducherry's election suggested that it is about time that Puducherry, Yanam and Mahe be merged with the neighbouring areas.

Please Wait while comments are loading...