After Aravakurichy, Thanjavur: TN election 2016 is virtually two-phase now

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, May 16: While the rest of Tamil Nadu was busy with the polling exercise on Monday (May 16), the two constituencies of Aravakurichy in Karur district and Thanjavur constituency in Thanjavur district remained inactive as the Election Commission (EC) deferred the polls in these two seats over use of money power to lure voters.

Assembly Polls 2016 Coverage; TN:Opinion polls 2016; Updates: TN polls

These two constituencies will go to polls on May 23 and their results will be declared on May 25.

tamil nadu polls 2016

The rest of the 232 constituencies were going to polls on the scheduled date and their results will be declared on May 19, along with the results of the elections in Kerala, Puducherry, West Bengal and Assam.

Campaigning to resume on Monday 

Meanwhile, sources said the security personnel deployed for the polls were asked to stay back in Aravakurichy as the poll panel permitted the resumption of campaign on Monday, after 6 pm.

Huge sums of cash seized

The orders on Thanjavur came late on sunday after seizure of huge sums of cash and charges about large-scale distribution of money among the voters. In Aravakurichy, also, the EC said a sum of Rs 6.75 crore had been seized.

The EC said the decision to postpone the elections was taken so that the effect of the money power created through distribution of money and gifts among the voters dies down and an atmosphere more conducive to polling is prevails during casting of the ballots.

Past results in these two seats:

Aravakurichy has seen both the ruling AIADMK and DMK winning it four times since 1980. The DMK won the seat in 2006 and 2011. Last time, KC Palanisamy had won from this seat.

Thanjavur, on the other hand, has been dominated by the DMK over the years although in 2011, the constituency was bagged by the AIADMK. 

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...