• search
For Bhopal Updates
Allow Notification  

Websites and twitter accounts of politicians, parties to be monitored


Politicians' tweets under scanner
Bhopal, Oct 22: The Election Commission of India (ECI) is leaving no stone unturned to ensure that the upcoming Assembly elections will be conducted in a free and fair manner.

In order to check the violation of model code of conduct, the ECI will be watching the Twitter accounts of six political parties and 18 political leaders in the country. Tweets of politicians like Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Sonia Gandhi, Digvijaya Singh, Uma Bharti, Narendra Modi, Sushma Swaraj, Rahul Gandhi, LK Advani, Shashi Tharoor, Nitin Gadkari, Ravi Shankar, Shahnawaz Hussain, Rajnath Singh, Rajeev Shukla, Mukhtar Naqvi, Omar Abdulla, Ajay Maken and Yedyurrapa will be under scanner constantly.

Besides tweets, websites of newspapers, e-papers, websites of political parties and politicians also will be thoroughly scanned. Website of MP CM Chouhan, BJP MP, website of Congress MP, opposition leader in MP Ajay Singh and others also will be monitored.

Election Commission to monitor websites of politicians, parties, newspapers

This will be carried out with the help of textual information extraction (TIE) a system operated by Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC) Pune.

As of now Facebook pages and accounts of these politicians and political parties seem to be safe. However the politicians will have to be on their toes now.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X