Madhya Pradesh elections 2013: BJP sweeps Congress off

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
MP: BJP sweeps Congress off
Bhopal, Dec 8: The ruling BJP government led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is heading for a massive sweep in Madhya Pradesh as counting of votes for 230-seat assembly began on Sunday.

By 10.30 am, BJP is leading in over 140 seats from the total 230 seats, while Congress is leading 74 seats.

Riding high on a pro-incumbency factor, Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan looks set to get a third straight term in his state.

Congress is leading in forty-eight seats, including Tikamgarh, Khargapur, Sanwar, Prthivipur, Malhara, Hatta, Niwari, Jaitpur, Jabera, while others are ahead in nine - (BSP) is ahead in six seat (Vijaypur).

As per reports, BJP candidates are going strong in Deepalpur, Garoth, Agar, Sirjapur, Narsingpur, Rehil, Damoh, Patharia and Jatra assembly seats.

The vote count for 230-seat assembly started across 51 districts at 8 am. Postal ballots were counted first and half-an-hour later, the counting of EVMs began.

The BJP-ruled Madhya Pradesh witnessed a record voter turnout of 70 percent when nearly 4 crore 65 lakh voters exercised their franchise to decide the fate of a total of 2,583 in the 230-member Assembly.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...