News in brief: April 30

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Narendra Modi
Bangalore, April 30: Here are the top news in brief for the day:

10:00 pm: AAP Patiala candidate Dr Dharamvir Gandhi attacked by SAD workers

9:30 pm: I don't think this is a serious matter at all: Chandan Mitra on alleged poll code violation by Narendra Modi

9:15 pm: Election Commission show cause notice to Parkash Singh Badal for allegedly asking people to secretly give funds for campaign

8:45 pm: CPI(M) alleges large-scale booth capturing, rigging and violence during the third phase of polling in West Bengal

8:00 pm: 'The thought of an impending loss has made him lose his mental balance,' says Mayawati hitting back at Mulayam

7:45 pm: Addressing an election rally in Faizabad, SP chief Mulayam Singh makes a personal attack on Mayawati

7:30 pm:FIR filed against Narendra Modi, Election Commission says compliance order has been received

7.15 pm: 82.5% voter turnout recorded in West Bengal. Reports of violence mar the third phase in the state. [Read more...]

7.00 pm: Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav says Congress has now lost right to return to the power.

6.50 pm: Former IPL commissioner Lalit Modi hails the decision of the Supreme Court which ordered the opening of the Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) election ballots by May 6.

6.40 pm: Election Commission censures BJP leader Giriraj Singh for his Pakistan remarks during Lok Sabha poll campaign in Bihar.

6.30 pm: Rahul Gandhi tells people of Seemandhra that it was Congress-led UPA government that ensured that their region got special status.

6.25 pm: Nearly 54 per cent polling recorded in UP till  5pm.

6.20 pm: K Sakthi, Deputy Director, Directorate of Lighthouses and Lightships arrested by CBI while demanding and accepting a bribe of Rs 25,000 from a contractor.

6.15 pm: EC initiates action against Narendra Modi, warns media

6.08 pm: KSRTC bus overturns in Mangalore, 30 injured.

6.08 pm: Gujarat police registers FIR against Narendra Modi.

5.49 pm: BJP senior leader Arun Jaitley questions EC over filing an FIR against Narendra Modi.

5.45 pm: Digvijay Singh today came out in the open and tweeted about his relationship with TV anchor Amrita Rai (read more)

5.31 pm: Rahul Gandhi addresses rally in Hindupur, Andhra Pradesh.

5.10 pm: Nitin Gadkari withdraws defamation case as Manish Tewari tenders unconditional apology (read more)

4.55 pm: AAP leader Prashant BHushan says that the EC must ban all Narendra Modi rallies.

4.52 pm: Priyanka Gandhi campaigns for Rahul Gandhi in Amethi where she interacted with locals.

4.40 pm: Malaysia to release initial MH370 report on Thursday.

4.15 pm: 51% voter turnout in Gujarat till 4 pm, surpasses 2009 record of 47.9%.

4.03 pm: Narendra Modi addresses rally in Hajipur, Bihar.

3.45 pm: Why is Pakistan getting worked up over Modi's questions to the Indian govt? Is the Pakistani Interior Minister admitting to presence of Dawood in Pakistan, asks BJP spokesperson and Lok Sabha election candidate Meenakshi Lekhi.

3.37 pm: Accused of rape, actor Inder Kumar sent to judicial custody till 13 May.

3.21 pm: 44.31 per cent voting recorded in Kanpur, 72.65 per cent voting in West Bengal, 59 per cent voting in Telangana till 3pm.

3.15 pm: Narendra Modi addresses rally in Chhapra in Bihar.

3.10 pm:
Four voters injured in attack on polling booth in West Bengal. [Follow live updates from West Bengal here...]

2.57 pm: EC directs FIR against TV channels that carried images of Modi press conference.

2.31 pm: BJP leader Giriraj Singh applies for anticipatory bail in Jharkhand High Court in hate speech case.

2.14 pm: EC directs Gujarat administration to file complaint/FIR against Narendra Modi for "violating" election law.

2.00 pm: BJP slams Pakistani minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan over his criticism of Narendra Modi, says Pakistan has no business in making comments on India's domestic issues.

1.20 pm: 62.25% voting recorded in WB till 1 pm.

1.05 pm: Dadar and Nagar Haveli records 40 per cent polling till 11 am, Daman and Diu record 15 per polling in the first two hours.

12.47 pm: Narendra Modi addresses rally in Bihar.

12.24 pm: Manish Tewari has accused Nitin Gadkari of holding a 'benami' flat in the Adarsh housing society.

12.15 pm: Uttarakhand government plans to start the Char Dham Yatra from May 2.

12.13 pm: Punjab registered 25 per cent voting till 11 am.

12.07 am: Vehicle for Rahul Gandhi convoy hit by Yashwanthapur express at Guddem unmanned crossing. Driver is reportedly injured.

11.56 am: 31.5 per cent polling till 11 am in Telangana, 26% in Bihar.

11.55 am: Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi in Seeamandhra.

11.41 am:  Priyanka Gandhi addresses rally in Amethi.

11.35 am: Milind Deora, Sanjay Nirupam, Vishwajeet Kadam and Deepak Shirole named by EC for indulging in paid news.

11.15 am: Delhi HC to hear Robert Vadra land deals case on May 13.

11.09 am: Muslims, Sikhs object to headscarf ban at California go-kart parks.

10.51 am: US tornadoes kill 34, threaten more damage in South.

10.42 am: About 15 per cent polling recorded in Gujarat and 14 per cent polling recorded in Punjab till 10 am.

10.25 am: 18 per cent voting in Jhansi till 9 am.

10.00 am: Report on Niira Radia tapes to be kept secret: Supreme Court.

9.53 am: Planes head home as MH370 search scaled back.

9.29 am: Congress to complain to EC alleging violation of Model Code by Modi for trying to influence voters on poll day with speech and party symbol.

9.10 am: Narendra Modi urges people to go out and vote. "Everyone must join this festival of democracy and strengthen it. I want to apologise to the people of Gujarat for not being able to give them a lot of time recently," he said. He said I thank the voters that these elections have passed off peacefully.

8.55 am: BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi arrives in Gandhinagar to cast his vote.

8.47 am: 10 per cent polling reported in Amritsar, 4.85 per cent voting reported in Bihar till 8 am. (follow live updates here)

8.47 am: Mayawati casts her vote in Lucknow, urges Dalits to exercise their franchise.

8.24 am: Gopal Kanda to meet Haryana governor today.

8.10 am: Madhusudan Mistry confident of Congress' victory in Vadodara.

7.49 am: Capt. Amarinder Singh condemns attack on journalist (Read here)

7.48 am: North Korea warns of new form of N-test -- IANS

7.47 am: Kerry asks NATO members to raise defence budget -- IANS

7.46 am:
Pro-Russia activists storm Ukrainian official buildings -- IANS

7.45 am: Curiosity rover set for third drilling on Mars: NASA -- IANS

7.40 am: Telangana also goes to its first assembly election along with the parliamentary polls (follow live updates here).

7.35 am: A number of heavyweight candidates in fray in this phase, including Narendra Modi, LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Sonia Gandhi, MM Joshi and others.

7.30 am:
Voting underway in 89 constituencies in 7 states and 2 Union Territories in India in the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha election.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...