PC receives Srikrishna panel reports on Telangana

Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, Dec 30: Justice Srikrishna committee submitted its report over Telangana issue to Home Minister P Chidambaram on Thursday, Dec 30. The report is expected to provide the road map, on statehood issue.

The panel was assigned to examine the situation in Andhra Pradesh related to demand of separate Telangana state, as well as the demand to maintain United Andhra pradesh.

The five member committee was appointed on Feb 3, 2010 by the govt of India, when the Telangana dispute reached the peak of violence. Former Supreme Court Justice BN Srikrishna, headed this committee and had prepared the two volume report over the statehood issue. Chidambaram said that the report will be made public on Jan 6, 2010.

Chidambaram said, “govt will consider this report and initiate talks with political parties. The invitation for political parties are being sent. Soon after the meeting with eight major political parties the report will be made public on Jan 6, 2011."

“After the report made public the media should report the contents factually. I seek full support from the media once the report is made open," he added.

The other members of Srikrishna committee are Dr Ranbir Singh, Vice-Chancellor of the National Law University, Delhi, Dr Abusaleh Shariff, Senior Research Fellow, International Food Policy Research Institute, Delhi, Dr (Ms) Ravinder Kaur, Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi, and Mr Vinod K Duggal, former Union Home Secretary, who will be the Member-Secretary.
The Terms of Reference of the Committee comprised:-
(1) To examine the situation in the State of Andhra Pradesh with reference to the demand for a separate State of Telangana as well as the demand for maintaining the present status of a united Andhra Pradesh.
(2) To review the developments in the State since its formation and their impact on the progress and development of the different regions of the State.
(3) To examine the impact of the recent developments in the State on the different sections of the people such as women, children, students, minorities, other backward classes, scheduled castes and scheduled tribes.
(4) To identify the key issues that must be addressed while considering the matters mentioned in items (1), (2) and (3) above.
(5) To consult all sections of the people, especially the political parties, on the aforesaid matters and elicit their views; to seek from the political parties and other organisations a range of solutions that would resolve the present difficult situation and promote the welfare of all sections of the people; to identify the optimal solutions for this purpose; and to recommend a plan of action and a road map.
(6) To consult other organisations of civil society such as industry, trade, trade unions, farmers" organisations, women"s organisations and students" organisations on the aforesaid matters and elicit their views with specific reference to the all round development of the different regions of the State.
(7)To make any other suggestion or recommendation that the Committee may deem appropriate.

Warangal, Adilabad, Khammam, Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda, Rangareddy, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Medak and Hyderabad are the ten regions come within Telangana. Hence, Andhra MPs from coastal and Rayalseema region are afraid of losing out on the rich Telangana areas.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...