• search
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now  
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Chidambaram appointed chairman of National Integration Council

By Mamatha

New Delhi, Oct.19 (ANI): The Government on Tuesday constituted the standing committee of the National Integration Council (NIC) with Home Minister P Chidambaram as its chairman and four Union Ministers and nine Chief Ministers as members.

"The National Integration Council (NIC) has been reconstituted vide Office Order No. 19012/1/2009-NI-II dated 5th April, 2010. The agenda items for the meeting of National Integration Council will be finalized by the Standing Committee," said an official release.

The NIC was reconstituted on April 5, 2010.

The Union Ministers, who are members of the committee, are: Pranab Mukherjee (Finance), M Veerappa Moily (Law and Justice), Mamata Banerjee (Railways) and Sharad Pawar (Agriculture).

The Chief Ministers of West Bengal, Assam, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and Gujarat are also members of the standing committee.

Co-opted members of NIC include Shobhan Bhartia, Chairperson, Hindustan Times, Asgar Ali Engineer, Fali S. Nariman, Barkha Dutt, Group Editor, NDTV and E Ahmed, President, Indian Union Muslim League. (ANI)

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more