• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

SK Nataraj elected as the 44th mayor of Bangalore

Written by: Staff

Bangalore, Apr 23: The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) elected SK Nataraj as the first mayor while N Dayanand was handed over the post of Deputy Mayor.

The elections were held on Friday, Apr 23 at the Kempe Gowda council hall under the supervision of Regional commissioner GM Dhananjay. For the current term, the mayor's post was reserved for a general category candidate, and the deputy mayor's post was reserved for a Scheduled Caste candidate.

The election of the mayor and the deputy mayor was the first thing that the new batch of 198 corporators did after being elected to power.

While BJP had narrowed down SK Nataraj and BS Sathyanarayana for the mayoral post, the party was tilting towards SK Nataraj from the beginning despite the fact that Sathyanarayan, who represents NR Colony ward, is the senior-most corporator.

Therefore the election of SK Nataraj, who represents the Sarakki ward, as the mayor became an expected outcome as BJP holds lion's share in the newly elected BBMP.

Thus, God-fearing and religious SK Nataraj became the first BBMP mayor and the 44th mayor of Bangalore. The BJP leader, who is a close associate of Transport minister R Ashoka, has also worked with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS).

The new deputy mayor, N Dayanand was elected to power in the Benniganahalli ward. Dayanand, who has a M Tech post graduation degree, is one among those class of councillors who have good educational background.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more