Left Front wins Agartala Municipal Council seat

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Agartala, Oct 2: The CPI(M)-led left front in Tripura has won 123 seats of 135 of different local self governments in the by-elections.

State election department officials here on Wednesday, Oct 2 said Forward Bloc, a constituent of the Left Front, had won the Agartala Municipal Council seat and CPI(M) candidates won two Zilla Parishad and four Nagar Panchayat seats in the election. The officials said the Congress and other Opposition parties had won 12 seats in village Panchayats and Village Committees of Tripura Autonomous District Council elections.

Voting in all 337 polling booths of 135 seats in local self government was held on September 27 and about 81 per cent votes were recorded. About 1.76 lakh voters had determined the fate of 310 candidates of seven different parties in two Zilla Parishads, eight Panchayat Samities, 94 Village Panchayats, 23 Village Committees and three seats of Tripura Tribal Autonomous District Council, four Nagar Panchayats and one seat of Agartala Municipal Council in the by-elections.


Please Wait while comments are loading...