Three Pakistan teams for Surjit Hockey

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalandhar, Sep 30 (UNI) Three Pakistan teams will be the main attraction in the IndianOil SERVO Surjit Silver Jubilee Hockey Tournament, scheduled to be held here at the Olympian Surjit Astroturf Hockey Stadium from October 18 to 25.

According to Iqbal Singh Sandhu, organising secretary of the tournament, three Pakistan teams namely Javed Hockey Club, Gojra, Crescent Hockey Club, Sialkot and Independent Hockey Club, Sargodha have confirmed their participation. The Pakistan teams have been recommended by the Pakistan Hockey Federation. They have been seeded directly into quarter final league stage.

Runners-up Indian Airlines, Delhi will now participate under the banner of Air India, Mumbai as Indian Airlines have merged into Air India. Top stars of both teams will exhibit their skills in one team under the banner of Air India, Mumbai. The other Indian teams include holders IndianOil Mumbai, Punjab and Sind Bank Delhi, Namdhari-XI Sirsa, Border Security Force Jalandhar, Air India Mumbai, Rail Coach Factory Kapurthala, Bharat Petroleum Mumbai, Punjab Police Jalandhar and South Central Railways Secundrabad.

According to Jalandhar Deputy Commissioner Ajeet Singh Pannu, who is also the President of the Surjit Hockey Society, the tournament would be played on knockout-cum-league basis. There will be no gate entry money.

Leading Oil company IndianOil Corporation Limited will be the main sponsor of the tournament while multinational gym company Gold's Gym will be the co-sponsor for the tournament, Mr Pannu added.

According to Mr Jagjit Puri, Secretary General, the Society has decided to honour prominent personalities who have contributed to the promotion of sports, environment, culture, health services and in social activities.

A selection committee under the chairmanship of LR Nayyar, IRS, working President has been set up while Sukhwinder Pal Singh Murar PCS, Sarojini Sharda PCS, Lakhwinder Pal Singh Khaira PPS, Padamshree Pargat Singh and Col Manmohan Singh will the members of the committee.


Please Wait while comments are loading...