Administrator's Challenge Cup tournament to start from Sept one

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Aug 28 (UNI) Three local and 18 prominent outstation teams will be seen in action in the 6th Administrator's Challenge Cup All-India Football Tournament for Under-17, being organised by the Department of Sports, Chandigarh Administration from September 1 to 9.

Punjab Governor and Chandigarh Union Territory Administrator, General (Retd.) S F Rodrigues will inaugurate the tournament which has approval of the All India Football Federation.

Steadfast Sports Academy, Mumbai, Mahindra and Mahinder, Mumbai, Mohun Bagan Sail Football Academy, West Bengal, Bihar Football Association, Indian Football Association and West Bengal are taking part for the first time in the tournament.

Chandigarh Sports Director-cum-Additional Deputy Commissioner Inderjit Singh Sandhu said that the teams had been divided into four groups and winners of each group would make it to the semi-finals.

The league matches will be played at the Sector 42 Football Ground and the Sector 17 Football Stadium. Both semi-finals and final scheduled for September 8 and September 9 respectively will be played at the Sector 17 Football Stadium.

Services Football XI are the defending champions. New Public School Academy, Sector 18, Chandigarh are runners-up.

Chandigarh Football Academy, which is run by the Chandigarh Administration, will begin campaign with their opening group A match against Steadfast Sports Academy of Mumbai at the Sector 17 Football Stadium .

Mr Sandhu said that all arrangements had been completed and various committees had been working hard for the smooth conduct of the tournament. Free board and lodging (Rs 100 per head per day) during stay of the teams at the venue of the tournament to 18 players and two officials will be given. To and fro rail fare will also be given to the participating teams.

The AIFF observer/commissioner can refer any player, who appears to be overage, to the medical committee, which will examine the concerned player. And if required, it can take magnetic resonance image (MRI) to ascertain the correct age. A player born on or after January 1, 1992 is eligible to take part in the tournament.

The Teams have been divided into four groups.

Group A: Tamil Nadu Football Association, Orissa Football Association, Chandigarh Football Academy, Madhya Pradesh Football Association, Haryana Football Association.

Group B: Cantonment Board Senior Secondary School, Jalandhar Cantt., Mahindra &Mahindra Football Club, Mohun Bagan Sail Football Academy, West Bengal, J&K, Football Association, Bihar Football Association.

Group C: Mizoram SSA Football XI, Services Football XI, Punjab Football Association, Himachal Pradesh Football Association, St.

Stephin's School Football Academy, Chandigarh.

Group D: Delhi Soccer Association, Chhattisgarh Football Association, Mahilpur Football Academy, Indian Football Association, New Public School Academy, Chandigarh.


Please Wait while comments are loading...