TDP Telangana leaders decide to stand by Naidu

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jun 23 (UNI) Expressing solidarity with TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu, TDP leaders from the Telangana region today alleged that former Ministers T Devender Goud and E Peddi Reddy had given their resignation with ''selfish motive''.

TDP Legislature Party Deputy Leader N Janardhan Reddy told mediapersons here that the party had given maximum recognition to Mr Goud though he was much junior to other leaders.

''At a time when the party wrested four seats from the TRS and the TDP President was working hard to improve the party's prospects by taking part in Meekosam Yatra, they acted in a hasty manner by tendering their resignations,'' Mr Janardhan Reddy opined, adding it was not proper to exert pressure on the party leadership to take an immediate decision on the issue when the ''ball is in the Congress' court.'' Mr E Dayakar Rao, who won the Warangal Lok Sabha seat for the party in the recent byelection, urged them to reconsider their decision as Mr Naidu had made it clear that the party was not against Telangana and that it would take a decision on the issue at an appropriate time.

Senior party leader and MLA K Harishwar Reddy, who was instrumental in Mr Goud's entry into the party, said their resignation would not have any adverse effect on the party.

Former Ministers P Srinivas Reddy and Uma Madhav Reddy were among those who supported Mr Naidu even as many senior leaders, including K Srihari, Ch Rajeswara Rao and C Muthyam Reddy, were conspicuous by their absence.


Please Wait while comments are loading...