Delhi to get additional 2,471 MW power, agreements signed

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, June 5 (UNI) In a development which would go a long way in bridging the gap between demand and supply, power purchase agreements were signed today to ensure regular supply of 2471 MW power for the city.

A power purchase agreement has been signed between NTPC and BSES Rajdhani Power Ltd as well as BSES Yamuna Power Ltd for purchase of power from Dadri, Badarpur Power Station and other power stations of NTPC located in the Northern region.

By this agreement 1721 MW power would be supplied by the NTPC, a Delhi Transco spokesperson said.

Another power purchase agreement has also been signed with Aravali Power Company, wherein the Aravali Power Corporation Ltd will supply 750 MW power to Delhi from its power station located at Jhajjar in Haryana.

The agreement envisages the allocation of 327 MW power to BRPL and 204 MW power to BYPL. Agreements are for a period of 25 years.

The agreements were signed by Mr Ramesh Narayanan from the BSES Rajdhani Power Ltd and Mr Yash Mehra on behalf of BSES Yamuna Power Ltd, Mr S N Goyal from NTPC and Mr P K Modi from Aravali Power Corporation Ltd.

Agreements were signed in presence of Delhi Government's Power Secretary Rajendra Kumar, Executive Director (Commercial), NCR NTPC I J Kapoor and CEO BRPL in the Delhi Secretariat, Arun Kanchan.


Please Wait while comments are loading...