Straight contest likely in Karkala

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Udupi, May 9 (UNI) The district with ample of famous temples, basadis and churches has been reduced to five assembly constituencies from the earlier six constituencies after delimitation and is all set witness straight fight at least in Karkala.

A triangular contest in Udupi, four-corner contest in Kundapura and multi-corner contests in remaining two constituencies-Kaup and Byndoor are likely to be witnessed.

Though there was a presence of candidates from Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP), JD(S) and Samajwadi Party (SP) in most of the constituencies in the district the real fight would virtually would be between the Congress and the BJP.

At least two former ministers are in the battle field. Mr Vasanth V Salian, the four-time winner and former minister in S M Krishna government who lost to Mr Lalaji Mendon (BJP) in 2004 election is now contesting from the constituency against Mr Mendon.

Mr K Jayaprakash Hegde, the former minister and three-time winner (first term on Janata Dal ticket) and remaining two successive term as an independent) had now shifted to Kundapura constituency after his winning battle field Bramhavar constituency merged with Udupi and Kundapura. Now he is contesting on Congress ticket against his own relative and 'Ajathashatru' Halady Srinivasa Shetty (BJP) who had represented the constituency in the last two term by defeating his nearest rival from the Congress.

For the first time in the history of the district, a film actor Gururaja Bhat alias Surya who had performed his role in two Tulu films had entered the election fray in Kaup constituency as an independent where former minister Mr Salian and former BJP MLA Lalaji Mendon are contesting.

The district which had a total of 7,59,297 voters with 4,06,998 women and 3,52,229 men voters, after revision of voter list with issuing of fresh voter identity cards had now increased by 97,000 voter to reach 7.65 lakh voters.


Please Wait while comments are loading...