Bangarappa files papers to take on Yeddyurappa

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 28 (UNI) Former Karnataka chief minister and Samajwadi Party state president S Bangarappa, senior Congress leaders H K Patil, R V Deshapande and Shamanur Shivashankarappa were among those who filed their nomination papers for the second phase of state Assembly elections, scheduled to be held on May 16.

Mr Bangarappa, who ended speculation over his party's pre-poll alliance either with the JD(S) or the Congress, filed his papers from Shikaripura Assembly seat, from where BJP Chief Ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa is seeking re-election.

After filing the nomination, Mr Bangarappa told reporters in Shimoga that he was fighting from the constituency to arrest the growth of ''communal forces'' like the BJP in the state and to defeat Mr Yeddyurappa.

He alleged that the BJP, JD(S) and the Congress had failed to uplift the backward classes and downtrodden and Samajwadi Party was the only alternative to them to provide all-round development.

Other leaders who filed their nomination for the second phase of elections included Congress leader H K Patil from Gadag seat, who is trying his luck for the first time in the Assembly. Mr Patil, who had been a Member of the Legislative Council for over two decades, would be contesting for the Lower House for the first time.

Besides, former BJP Minister K S Eshwarappa and former BJP MLA Araga Jnanendra filed their papers from Shimoga Urban and Thirthahalli respectively.

UNI Team-RS AM AS1917

Please Wait while comments are loading...