CPN, UML quits government after defeat in polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kathmandu, Apr 16 (UNI) All seven ministers representing the CPN, UML have jointly tendered their resignation to Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala today, after the Maoists came out as the largest party in the vote counting of constituent assembly polls.

Foreign Minister Sahana Pradhan met Mr Koirala and handed over the joint resignation letter of the seven ministers.

''The UML decided to quit the government honouring the people's mandate to the CPN-Maoists to lead the government,'' the UML leader said.

The resignations were signed by Ms Pradhan, Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation Prithvi Subba Gurung, Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives Chhabilal Biswakarma, Minister for General Administration Ram Chandra Yadav, Minister of Education and Sports Pradeep Nepal, State Ministers--Mohan Singh Rathour and Nagendra Prasad Chaudhary.

The CPN-Maoists led with 116 seats when the results of 220 seats was declared.

The Nepali Congress is in the second place with 33 seats, CPN, UML 31 and Madhesi Janadhikar Forum 24 while, remaining seats went to smaller parties.


Please Wait while comments are loading...