• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Yesudas gets 'Gayaka Rathnam' award

By Staff

Thrissur, Kerala, Mar 18 (UNI) Noted musician K J Yesudas has been selected for the 'Gayaka Rathnam' Award, instituted by the Peringottukara Devasthanam Temple Trust.

While playback singer K S Chitra was chosen for the 'Ganapriya' award, celebrated poet Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri got the 'Aksharasree' award, Devasthanam Spokesman Haridas Gopinath said here today.

Actors Nedumudi Venu and Kaviyoor Ponnamma got the 'Bhavasree' awards and percussionists Kalloor Ramankutty and Parakkattu Thankappan Marrar were selected for the 'Vadya Kala Nidi' and 'Vadhya Kala Srestha' awards respectively.

The 'Madhyamasree' awards for journalists went to S Krishnankutty (Deputy Editor, Mathrubhumi) and Johny Lucose (Director, Manorama News Channel).

Mr Gopinath said the awards would be given away at a function in Peringottukara on April 1.

Music festivals in the name of noted musician V Dakshina Moorthy would be conducted from next year onwards.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more