Neiphiu Rio sworn-in as Nagaland Chief Minister

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Mar 12 : After the Union Cabinet decided to revoke President's Rule in Nagaland, the Leader of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland Nephieu Rio on Wednesday sworn-in as the next Chief Minister of the state.

Governor K Sankaranarayanan administered the oath of office and secrecy to 12 ministers, including Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio.

The eleven cabinet ministers who took oath were Shurhozelie (NPF), P Longon (NPF), G Kaito (NPF), Doshehe Y Sema (NPF), M C Konyak (BJP), T R Zeliang (NPF), Imchen Ingkong (NPF), Kuozholuzo (NPF), Nyeiwang Konyak (NPF), Dr Chunben Murri (NCP) and Dr Ngyangshr Ao.

In the sixty member House, in which the result of fifty nine seats have been declared so far, the NPF got 26, Congress 23, NCP and BJP two each and independents six.

Result of Surohoto LAC under Zunheboto district is still awaited as Election Commission rescheduled re-poll at a polling station there.

The Congress on Tuesday decided to sit in the opposition, respecting the mandate of the people.

Election results in Nagaland election have come as a big set back for the Congress as it is on the insistence of the party, that President's rule was imposed in the state months before the elections.

Please Wait while comments are loading...