No government accomodation for former CM's, rules SC

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 1: The Supreme Court on Monday held that former Chief Minister's are not entitled to government accommodation. As a result of this verdict, 6 former Chief Ministers including Mayawati and Mulayam Singh Yadav will have to vacate their government bungalows in two months.

While passing the order, the Supreme Court ordered that the former chief ministers who are residing in government bungalows will have to vacate the same within two months. The order was passed on a petition filed by Lok Prahari an NGO.

No govt house for former CMs: SC

The petitioner alleged that there was large scale violation of rules regarding allocation of government bungalows to former chief ministers. It was pointed out that despite an Allahabad High Court directive, the Uttar Pradesh government has framed the Ex-Chief Ministers' Residence Allotment Rules, 1997 (non-statutory), for allotting bungalows to successive former chief ministers.

While stating that the rule is unconstitutional, the petitioner stated that retaining government accommodation after demitting office was against the law.

Two years back the Public Works Department had issued notices to former chief ministers to vacate the government bungalows. The PWD had said that if they failed to do so in 15 days, then they would have to pay the rent as per the market rate.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...