JD(U) fields Bihar Speaker against Meira Kumar from Sasaram

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, March 15: The Janata Dal (United) on Saturday fielded Bihar Assembly Speaker Uday Narain Chowdhary and former bureaucrat K P Ramaiah from Sasaram and Jamui constituencies, respectively, for the Lok Sabha elections.

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is sitting Congress MP from Sasaram.

The JD(U), which rules Bihar, also declared the candidature of Baagi Kumar Verma from Aurangabad, Mahabali Singh from Karakat, Jeetan Ram Manjhi from Gaya and Kaushal Yadav from Nawada.

Except for Mahabali Singh, a sitting MP, JD(U) has fielded new candidates for rest of the five seats.

Uday Narain Chowdhary will challenge Meira Kumar in the battle of the Speakers

Sasaram, Karakat, Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada and Jamui constituencies will go for polls on April 10.

The party also fielded its Jharkhand unit chief Jaleshwar Hahato from Giridh and Mahesh Yadav from Chatra in Jharkhand.

It also declared candidates for four seats in Narendra Modi-ruled Gujarat and one each in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.

Jeetan Ram Manjhi is a minister in the Nitish Kumar government.

JD(U) is contesting 38 of 40 seats in alliance with CPI.

The CPI is contesting on two seats - Begusarai and Banka.

JD(U)'s Monazir Hassan is the sitting MP from Begusarai.

Since the seat has been given to CPI under the alliance agreement, JD(U) is likely to field him from another seat.


Please Wait while comments are loading...