Delhi assembly polls: Aam Aadmi Party releases first list of candidates

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Nov 13: As the Aam Aadmi Party is preparing itself to take on the BJP in the upcoming assembly elections in the national capital, it released its first list of MLAs on Thursday, Nov 13.


Here is the full list of candidates:

Manoj Kumar - Kondli

Jagdeep Singh - Harinagar

Jarnail Singh - Tilak Nagar

Girish Soni - Madipur

Vishesh Ravi - Karol Bagh

Somnath Bharti - Malviya Nagar

Saurabh Bhardwaj - Greater Kailash

Sanjeev Jha - Burari

Bandana Kumari- Shalimar Bagh

Satyendra Jain- Shakur Basti

Somdutt - Sadar Bazar

Cammando Surender - Delhi Cantt

Candidates who have been refielded are:

Sandeep - Sultanpuri Majra

Anil Bajpai - Gandhi Nagar

Atul Gupta - VishwasNagar

Rajesh Rishi - Janakpuri

Gulab Singh - Matiala

Vijender Garg - RajenderNagar

Kapil Mishra - Karawal Nagar

Jitender Tomar - TriNagar

ND Sharma - Badarpur

Bhavna Gaur - Palam

The list of 22 candidates was released during a press conference in New Delhi.

Earlier, there were reports that AAP will release a list of 30 names. The party chief and Delhi's former chief minister Arvind Kejriwal is expected to contest from New Delhi assembly seat from where he had defeated former chief minister Sheila Dixit by over 22,000 votes last year.

AAP has started preparations for the polls which is likely to take place in February like it had done for the last assembly polls. It declared its candidates early and also started campaign well in advance as compared to its rivals.

AAP had made a dream debut in Assembly polls in December last year winning 28 seats in the 70-member assembly.
Later, it had formed government in Delhi with the support of Congress.

The government led by Kejriwal resigned on 14 February after the party's pet project, the Janlokpal Bill, could not be passed due to opposition from BJP and Congress.

The Delhi Assembly was dissolved on 4 November by President Pranab Mukherjee following recommendation by the Union Cabinet.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...