• search
For Mysore Updates
Allow Notification  

Varamahalakshmi festival gift: KSIC to sell silk sarees at Rs 4,500

By Chennabasaveshwar

Mysuru, June 30: Karnataka Silk Industries Corporation (KSIC) is all set to make the upcoming Varamahalakshmi festival memorable one for women. State government owned KSIC has decided to offer sarees at the slashed price of Rs 4,500.

Workers prepare a handwoven Saree made from very fine silk. PTI file photo

Minister for Tourism and Sericulture Sa Ra Mahesh told media persons that the production of sarees has been started and will be sold from the festival day at the stalls of the corporation in the state. The saree is available in the range of Rs 10, 000 to Rs 2 lakh in the normal days.

The government has decided to open additional stalls at Hotel Lalit Mahal Palace, near KRS Dam in Mandya and also at Badami and Aihole in Bagalkot district.

"Notice will be served to shopkeepers, besides taking into account the boards if any, hung up in front of the shops," Minister said reacting to a query on constituting a vigilance squad to check spurious sales of sarees in the name of 'Mysore silk'.

Taking into cognisance the tourism potential of the state, it is equally essential to hone the skills of the people connected with the industry like cab drivers and those in the hospitality industry who cater to a particular group of visitors only. A dedicated session will be conducted to teach them soft skills like - body language while behaving with tourists, the Minister said.

Mysore Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Prathap Simha BJP Winner 6,88,974 52% 1,38,647
C.h.vijayashankar INC Runner Up 5,50,327 42% 1,38,647
Prathap Simha BJP Winner 5,03,908 44% 31,608
Adagooru H Vishwanath INC Runner Up 4,72,300 41% 0
Adagur H Vishwanath INC Winner 3,54,810 36% 7,691
C.h.vijayashankar BJP Runner Up 3,47,119 36% 0
C. H. Vijayashankar BJP Winner 3,16,442 33% 10,150
A S Guruswamy JD(S) Runner Up 3,06,292 32% 0
Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar INC Winner 3,38,051 38% 13,431
C.h.vijayashankar BJP Runner Up 3,24,620 36% 0
C.h.vijayashankar BJP Winner 3,55,846 42% 1,03,024
S.chikkamadu INC Runner Up 2,52,822 30% 0
Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadeyay INC Winner 2,58,299 35% 11,676
G T Deve Gowda JD Runner Up 2,46,623 33% 0
Chandraprabha Urs (w) INC Winner 2,25,881 39% 16,882
Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar BJP Runner Up 2,08,999 37% 0
Srikantadatta Narasimbharaj Wadeyar INC Winner 3,84,888 56% 2,49,364
D.mandegowda JNP (JP) Runner Up 1,35,524 20% 0
Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar INC Winner 2,47,754 55% 64,610
K. P. Shanthamurthy IND Runner Up 1,83,144 40% 0
M. Rajashekaramurthy INC(I) Winner 1,95,724 49% 83,036
H.d. Tulsidasappa INC(U) Runner Up 1,12,688 28% 0
H. D. Tulsidas INC Winner 1,95,657 54% 41,668
M. S. Gurupadaswamy BLD Runner Up 1,53,989 42% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more