AMU students' union election results declared

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Aligarh, Oct 30: Abdullah Azzam was on Thursday elected the president of the AMU Students' Union.

Azzam, of the law faculty, defeated his nearest rival Leyaqat Khan by a margin of 671 votes in a four-cornered contest, announced chief election officer, Prof Naeem Ahmad Khan.

Syed Masoodul Hasan, student of MA (Mass Communication) was elected vice president by a huge margin, securing 7,851 votes, while Shahzeb Ahmad, student of PGDIBF, was elected honorary secretary.

In the Women's College Students' Union elections, Gulfiza Khan was declared elected president while Noorain Batool and Afra Khanam took the posts of vice president and honorary secretary, respectively.

Ten cabinet members of the AMU Students' Union were also elected, as well as 11 candidates of the various faculties for the membership of the AMU Court, the highest governing body of the university.

The elections saw a turnout of more than 70 percent of the students.


Please Wait while comments are loading...