• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Three scientists share 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or medicine


Washington, Oct 07: Three scientists who studied how cells determine their oxygen levels have been awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. William G. Kaelin, Jr. of Harvard University, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe of Oxford University and Gregg L. Semenza of Johns Hopkins University were jointly awarded the prize.

Three scientists win 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or medicine

Denis Mukwege, Nadia Murad awarded 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel committee said,"Oxygen sensing is central to a large number of diseases. The discoveries made by this year's #NobelPrize laureates have fundamental importance for physiology and have paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anaemia, cancer and many other diseases.

"This year's nobel laureates "have greatly expanded our knowledge of how physiological response makes life possible," a spokesman said.

Other names circulating are Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, who clinched a peace deal with arch foe Eritrea, and NGOs such as Reporters without Borders and the Committee to Protect Journalists.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X