2 scientists share 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Stockholm, Oct 6: Takaaki Kajita of Japan and Arthur McDonald of Canada have won the Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of neutrino oscillations.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said the two researchers had made key contributions to experiments showing that neutrinos change identities. [Nobel Prize: All you need to know about the prestigious prize]

Nobel Prize

"The discovery has changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe," the academy said. [3 researchers share Nobel Prize for medicine]

Kajita is director of the Institute for Cosmic Ray Research and professor at the University of Tokyo. McDonald is a professor emeritus at Queen's University in Kingston, Canada.

The winners will split the 8 million Swedish kronor (about USD 960,000) prize money. Each winner also gets a diploma and a gold medal at the prize ceremony on December 10.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...