• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

With 13 nominations, Kagodu Thimmappa creates history in Karnataka


Kagodu Thimmappa of the Congress has created a history by filing his nomination papers for the 13th time. These 13 nominations include one for the Legislative Council Elections held in 1980.

Kagodu Thimmappa

Thimmappa filed his nominations on Monday from the Sagar assembly constituency. The state, in the post-independence era, has witnessed 14 elections between 1952 and 2013. The 2018 elections will be the 15th.

The first election that Thimmappa fought was from Sagar in 1962. He was, however, defeated. He faced defeat in the next election that was held in 1967.

Karnataka elections: Siddaramaiah most preferred as CM, BSY second, ABP opinion poll

He entered the state assembly for the first time on a Socialist Party ticket in 1972 when he defeated L T Thimappa Hegde of the Congress. He, however, lost the next election to Hegde in 1978.

Thimmappa then joined the Congress party and entered the legislative council in 1980.

Karnataka Assembly Election dates
Date of notification April 17
Last date to file nominations April 24
Last date to withdraw nominations April 27
Date of polling May 12
Date of counting May 15

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more