Bihar polls: 55% voter turnout recorded in 2nd phase; women outnumber men voters

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Oct 16: An estimated 55 per cent of the electorate cast their votes in 32 constituencies across six Maoist-affected districts of Bihar today in the second phase of assembly elections which passed off peacefully.

[Bihar Assembly Elections 2015: Know all about 2nd phase polls]

Here are Live Updates on the 2nd phase polls:


6.35 pm: 2nd phase of Bihar polls: Women voters outnumbered men voters by 5%; polling% of women voters- 57.5%, polling % men voters- 52.5%.

6.20 pm: Polling % for 2nd phase of #Biharpolls: Kaimur - 57.86%; Rohtas- 54.66%; Arwal- 53.21%; Jehanabad - 56.49%; Aurangabad- 52.50%; Gaya - 55.54%.

6.00 pm: 55 per cent voter turnout registered in second phase of Bihar polls today: EC.

5.50 pm: Ceiling fan falls on Lalu Prasad Yadav during an election rally in Motihari, Bihar.

5.02 pm: Second phase of Bihar Polls: Polling ends in Jehanabad.

4.02 pm: 52% voter turnout till 3 pm in Bihar.

3.45 pm: Out of 32 constituencies, voting ends in 11 seats at 3pm.

2.45 pm: Gaya, Bihar: Jitan Ram Manjhi casts his vote for Bihar polls

2.00 pm: Polling percentage of 42.6% seen until 1 pm for the second phase of Bihar polls.

12 noon: 36.27% voter turnout recorded till 12 noon; 

11.30 am: 10 villages of Ghoshi Assembly voted for 1st time, Chandradev Mahto aged 80 also voted for 1st time.

11.15 am: Polling percentage of 29.92% seen until 11 am, Gaya registers highest with 29.08%.

11.00 am: Polling percentage of 20.61% seen until 10 am, Gaya records highest at 22%.

10.15 am: BJP's Prem Kumar casts his vote in Gaya.

10.10 am: 7 polling booths in Gaya district are managed by women, from security officers to election officials.

10.05 am: Drones and more than 1 lakhs security persons have been deployed for the 2nd phase of Bihar polls.

10.00 am: Polling percentage of 10.76% seen until 9 am.

9.50 am: "No one wins elections on a tweet. Bihar people want development under BJP, it is clear" says Prakash Javadekar on Arvind Kejriwal's tweet.

9.45 am: I will not apply but if I'm made CM, I will not take time to accept it, says Jitan Ram Manjhi.

9.30 am: 5.83% voter turnout recorded till 8 am, highest in Gaya with 7.89%.

9.15 am: Voter turnout at 8 am: Kaimur- 4.71%, Rohtas- 6.73%, Arwal- 4.49%, Jehanabad- 3.44%, Aurangabad- 3.53%, Gaya- 7.89%

9.00 am: Cane bomb found near Rafiganj (Aurangabad, Bihar) poll booth number 144. Voting has not yet started there.

8.55 am: No electricity at auditorium poll booth in Sasaram town, locals complain to booth level officers.

8.50 am: Polling interrupted by tech snag in EVM machine in Sasaram polling booth 135, Bikramganj polling booth 64 and Dinara polling booth 99 & 112.

8.45 am: No voter present in 12 polling booths in Sasaram.

8.30 am: RSLP MP Arun Kumar casts his vote in Jehanabad.

8.15 am: A total of 883 companies of Central Para Military forces and state police has been deployed to ensure peaceful voting.

8.00 am: Polling for second phase of Bihar polls underway in Nokha.

7.45 am: Polling begins in Polling Booth 247, Jehanabad, Bihar.

7.43 am: PM Narendra Modi appeals voters to cast their votes in the second phase of polls.

7.30 am: Polling has not started at polling booth 247, Jehanabad, due to a technical snag with EVM machines.

7.15 am: Tight security outside polling stations for the second phase in Aurangabad.

7.00 am: People standing outside polling stations in Kaimur district to cast their votes, as security and preparations are in place for second phase of Bihar assembly polls.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...