(Updates) Bihar Assembly Elections 2015: Total 57% voting recorded in 1st phase

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Oct 12: It's a big day for Bihar, as the 49 constituencies go to polls in the first phase of five-phased assembly elections, after the highly-charged election campaigns held by the NDA-led alliance of BJP-LJP-HAM and UPA grand alliance of Congress-JDU-RJD.

Stay tuned for all the Live updates on the first phase of Bihar assembly polls 2015 here:

[Bihar Assembly Elections 2015: Special Coverage]

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015

6:15 pm: Total 57 per cent voter turnout has been recorded in the first phase of polling in Bihar. It was 50.85% during 2010 assembly elections, said Election Commission of India.

5.00 pm: Polling in remaining 36 constituency ends peacefully.

4.00 pm: Voting ends in 4 constituencies- Alauli (SC), Beldaur, Katoria (ST), Belhar.

3.15 pm: Voting ends in 9 constituencies- Tarapur, Jamalpur, Suryagraha, Rajauli (SC), Govindpur, Sikandara (SC), Jamui, Jhajha and Chakai.

3.00 pm: 49.29% poll percentage recorded till 3 pm.

2.50 pm: BJP leader Ashwini Chaubey casts his vote in Bhagalpur.

2.00 pm: 46.37% poll percentage recorded till 2 pm.

1.30 pm: "I urge people of Bihar to come out and vote. Your vote will have a very significant impact on the future of Bihar state & our nation", tweets BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain.

1.00 pm: Highest voter turnout recorded in Jamui at 41.79% till 1 pm.

12.30 pm: LJP candidate Vijay Kumar escapes unhurt after shots were fired at him by unidentified men in Jamui; 1 man detained, interrogation on.

12.15 pm: 40.77% voter turnout recorded till 12.30 pm.

12 noon: 31.79 per cent in Samastipur, 34.05 per cent in Begusarai, 30.55 per cent in Khagaria, 30.96 per cent in Bhagalpur, 36.99 per cent in Banka, 32.22 per cent in Munger, 34.76 per cent in Lakhisarai, 32.47 per cent in Sheikhpura and 32.20 per cent in Nawada.

11.50 am: Highest turnout recorded in Khagaria at 34.43% till 11 am.

11.45 am: Clash between NDA and Mahagatbandhan workers near booth number 156 in Jamui. 4 injured.

11.30 am: PM Narendra Modi addresses a rally in Jehanabad.

11.15 am: Jamui records highest voter turnout at 23.50%, Banka- 14%, Samastipur-7% till 10 am.

11.00 am: Long queues of voters outside a poliing booth in Jamui.

10.10 am: Polling percentage recorded till 10 am - 20.15%

10.00 am: "We demand CBI probe into the matter", says Senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi on alleged sting involving Awadhesh Kushwaha.

9.55 am: 6-7 per cent voting in the first hour of polling in the first phase of Bihar polls.

9.40 am: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar to hold 5 rallies today at 11.40 am at Rohtas (Sasaram), 12.40 pm at Rohtas (Dehri), 1.40 pm at Aurangabad, 2.40 pm at Obra and at 3.40 pm at Arwal.

9.15 am: Voters wait in long queues outside a polling booth in Munger to cast their votes.

9.00 am: Polling percentage recorded till 9 am is 15%, Samastipur 2.8% and Begusarai 6.60%.

8.55 am: A police constable Ram Pravesh Singh who was deployed at booth no.44 in Sahebpur Kamal constituency, dies of heart attack.


8.50 am: "These are double standards of Nitishji, he's definitely exposed as far as corruption is concerned", says BJP leader Siddharth N Singh.

8.45 am: Polling temporarily halted at Ramchandrapur booth number 86 in Sarairanjan constituency, due to EVM malfunction.

8.30 am: "Conspiracy by my political opponents;will try to bring out the truth before people. Allegations are of serious nature which is why I've resigned and have requested CM to accept my resignation", says Awadhesh Kushwaha on alleged sting.

8.15 am: EC directs concerned District Magistrate to probe into alleged sting involving former Bihar Cabinet Minister Awadhesh Kushwaha.

8.00 am: Voters stand in long queue outside a polling booth to cast their votes in Lakhisarai.

[Bihar Assembly Elections 2015: Know all about 1st phase polls and candidates]


7.30 am:  

7.25 am: PM Narendra Modi urges voters to cast their votes in large numbers, while particularly urging the youth. PM Modi is scheduled to hold a rally in Bhabua today.

7.20 am: Polling underway in Bhagalpur.

7.15 am:

7.10 am: BJP senior leader Giriraj Singh casts his vote in Baharaiya, Lakhisarai.

7.00 am: Voting in the first phase begins.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...