• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Two Rajya Sabha MPs challenge Naidu decision to reject impeachment motion against CJI


Two Rajya Sabha Congress MPs have moved the Supreme Court challenging the decision to reject the impeachment motion against Chief Justice of India, Venkaiah Naidu. The petition was filed after Rajya Sabha chairman, Venkaiah Naidu rejected the removal motion against Justice Misra which was signed by over 50 MPs.

Two Rajya Sabha MPs challenge Naidu decision to reject impeachment motion against CJI

The petitioners Pratap Singh Bajwa from Punjab and Amee Harshadray Yajnik from Gujarat, in a joint petition, said that once a removal motion is signed by a requisite number of MPs, RS chairman has no option but to constitute Inquiry Committee to probe into charges against CJI.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu had rejected the notice given by opposition parties led by the Congress to impeach the CJI. He had said that there was no substantial merit in it. Naidu held extensive consultations with top legal and constitutional experts, including former chief justices and judges, before taking the decision.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more