Two ex-armymen, two former bureaucrats elected MPs in Rajya Sabha

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Rajya Sabha
Jaipur, May 20: Rajasthan has elected two ex-Army officers and two former bureaucrats as Members of Parliament in this Lok Sabha elections.

Among the 25 MPs, all from BJP, one is a PhD holder, one a Chartered Accountant, another an MBA while two hold Bachelors degree in law. Ajmer MP Sanwar Lal Jat has a PhD, Bhilwar's Subhash Baheria is CA and Jhalawar-Bara MP Dushyant Singh and son of Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje completed MBA (Hotel Administration) from the US.

Graduates Rajyavardhan Rathore and Sonaram have served the India Army as Colonel. The 2004-Athens Olympics silver-medallist shooter, Rathore won by a margin of 3,32,896 votes over his nearest rival former Union minister CP Joshi of the Congress on Jaipur rural seat.

Colonel Sonaram, who defected to BJP from Congress, defeated BJP rebel and retired major Jaswant Singh in Barmer constituency. Dausa MP Harish Meena is former Director General of Rajasthan Police. He defeated his brother Namonarain Meena, who is also a former IPS officer and former union minister Namonarain Meena of Congress. He is a graduate.

Two-time MP Arjun Ram Meghwal (Bikaner) is a retired IAS officer who served at various posts in the state. Five MPs have qualifications of less than graduation. Bharapur MP Bahadur Koli is not educated while Manshankar (Banswara) and Devji Patel (Jalore) are Class 8 and 10 passed respectively. Out of the total 25 MPs, only one Santosh Ahlawat (Jhunjhunu) is woman. She is a post-graduate.


Please Wait while comments are loading...