Three more MPs supports Panneerselvam

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Feb 12: Amidst the intense power struggle within ruling AIADMK, the O Panneerselvam camp on Sunday got a boost with three more MPs extending support to the chief minister. The party's Lok Sabha MPs Jaisingh Thiyagaraj Natterjee (Tuticorin), Senguttuvan (Vellore) and R P Marutharaja (Perambalur) extended their support to Pannerselvam.

Three more MPs supports Panneerselvam

The MPs called on Panneerselvam at his Greenways Road residence this morning and extended solidarity to him. Four AIADMK Lok Sabha MPS -- P R Sundaram, K Ashok Kumar, V Sathyabama and Vanaroja -- had already switched over to the chief minister's camp, pledging support to him. Rajya Sabha MP V Maitreyan is also in the Panneerselvam camp.

Panneerselvam at present also enjoys the support of seven MLAs, including him. In the 235-member Tamil Nadu assembly, AIADMK has 135 MLAs. AIADMK Fisheries wing Joint Secretary K A Jeyapaul, a Minister in the 2011-16 Jayalalithaa cabinet and former Erode Mayor Mallika Paramasivan also joined the Panneerselvam camp on Sunday.

On February 5, AIADMK General Secretary VK Sasikala was elected as the party's Legislature Leader, a step towards her elevation as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. However, two days later, Panneerselvam had raised a revolt against her, alleging he was forced to step down for her. AIADMK has 37 MPs in Lok Sabha and 13 in Rajya Sabha.


Please Wait while comments are loading...