Tamil Nadu: AAP announces candidates for 8 seats

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Tamil Nadu
Chennai, March 19:Keeping its promise of fielding candidates against corrupt leaders like A Raja and Dayanidhi Maran, AAP has announced 8 seats. It has fielded academicians and social activists. Two of them include anti-nuclear activist S.P. Udayakumar.

The other two prominent leaders to contest are People's Movement Against Nuclear Energy (PMANE)-M. Pushparayan and M.P. Jesuraj-who will be fighting from Tuticorin and Tirunelveli respectively.

J. Prabhakar, a social activist and a coordinator of events will be fielded against Maran from Chennai (Central).

Pon Chandran, long-term People's Union for Civil Liberties activist, will be fielded from Coimbatore. The list of other candidates include:

  • Erode: K.K. Kumarasamy, who is actively involved in the propagation of organic farming
  • Tirupur: R. Chakravarthy Rajagopalan, who is the founder of the ‘Voice of Youth for Clean Environment'
  • Salem: Satheesh Kumar who is a software engineer from BITS Pilani and works with grassroot organizations in various fields. He is also the youngest of the eight at the age of 39.

The state convenor of AAP, Christina Samy confirmed that the party may contest in more than 20 constituencies. She also explained that the strength of the contestants and the organizational capacity in a constituency are the most important factors in choosing seats.

The first list covered the Western and the Southern regions of the State. These seats would ensure that the state is adequately covered by AAP In the Lok Sabha polls.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...