Surprising! This BJP candidate got just 1,800 votes in Haryana despite Modi wave

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
BJP supporters celebrating the party's victory in Haryana and Maharashtra Assembly elections, in New Delhi on Sunday.
Chandigarh, Oct 20: At a time when the BJP is buoyed by its unprecedented success in the Haryana Assembly polls and talking about its poster boy Narendra Modi-wave, there is also a party candidate who couldn't even bag 2000 votes.

BJP candidate from Tosham Assembly seat, Gunpal, managed to get just 1,822 votes in his name. Hence, the Election Commission will seize the BJP candidate's deposit. Congress's Kiran Chaudhary won Tosham assembly seat by getting 58,218 votes.

The EC seizes the deposit a candidate's deposit if he/she fails to get less than 1/6th of the total number of valid votes polled from his/her constituency.

Kamla Rani of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) got 38,477 votes while Rajbir Singh Lala, Independent, received 38,427 votes.

Even Modi wave couldn't come to the rescue of Gunpal who came at 6th place in the constituency, in which an Independent managed to get 38,427 votes.

Gunpal is not the only BJP candidate to receive so less votes in his respective constituency. However, as per locals, the main cause for Gunpal's loss was because Rajbir Singh Lala, who is brother of incumbent BJP MP from Bhiwani Dharambir Singh, which confused the voters to either vote for BJP candidate or an MP's brother.

Dr. Kuldeep Kakran of the BJP got just 13,953 from Kharkhauda (SC) seat which was won by Congress' Jaiveer Singh (37829 votes).

From Baroda assembly seat BJP's Baljit Singh Malik received just 8,698 votes from where Sri Krishan of Congress bagged over 50,000 votes.

Same was the fate of Sanjeev Buwana, BJP's candidate from Julana, who managed to get just 12,013 votes. INLD's Parminder Singh Dhull won from this constituency.

Similarly Karan Singh Ranolia got just 8319 votes from Adampur seat, a bastion of former BJP ally Kuldeep Bishnoi's HJC (BL).

The BJP on Sunday scripted history by winning 47 out of 90 assembly seats in Haryana assembly poll. The party credited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for this emphatic victory.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...