• search
For Guwahati Updates
Allow Notification  

SC issues notice to seven states over coal blocks

By Ians

New Delhi, Sept 26: The Supreme Court Thursday issued notice to seven states seeking their response on the allocation of coal blocks by the central government in their territories.

The states are West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, and Maharashtra.

The apex court bench headed by Justice R.M. Lodha sought the response of the state governments on four counts:

1. "How did the states understand the allocation of coal blocks by the central government?"

2. "What was the role of state governments in allocation of coal blocks?"

3. "And what was the role of state governments in subsequent steps, having regard to the provisions of Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act?"

4. Details of the agreement entered into by the state public sector undertakings with private companies on the mining of the coal blocks allocated to them.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more